April 8, 2016

  • No sauce?! Seriously?!

    I try not to complain. And I know that this is just a #FirstWorldProblems rant, but it's a rant that must be set free, so here we go.

    I don't normally get breakfast at Tim Horton's. Contrary to the stereotype, no, not all Canadians "love" Timmy's. In fact, I can't stand the food at Tim Horton's. But, they're in my office building, and I didn't have enough time to go elsewhere for breakfast, so I went in there and got a sausage breakfast sandwich. As soon as order #236 touched my hand, I felt my heart sink. It's going to be one of those days.

    I headed up to my desk, eleven floors above the Timmy's, and unswaddled my protein-carb companion to discover that it is NOT what I ordered. And what's worse...it's a downgrade. So, I roll it back up in the paper, head back down eleven floors and go back to the kiosk that dispensed this imposter. This isn't a rant about bad service. The Tim's employee at the kiosk didn't give me attitude or anything. She looked at my order slip, looked at the sandwich, and told someone working the sandwich station to make a new one. When I was back at my desk with the sandwich I ordered, I proceeded to eat it and was filled with the exact level of disappointment I was expecting -- no more, no less.

    You would think after that fiasco, that it couldn't possibly happen again, right? I mean, how many times can your food order get messed up in one day? Well...I'll tell you right now...it can get messed up at least twice. And this f-up was ROYALLY f'd up.

    At lunchtime, I walked down to Chatime to redeem a free drink. I figured that once I got near Chatime, I could pick a food place near by to buy lunch. I stumbled upon a new burger joint...Hangry Burger. And serendipitously, today is their first day open. So, I decided to go all out. I ordered the "So Cheesed", which is single beef patty with a slice of cheddar cheese. I added lettuce, tomato, sautéed onions, grilled jalapeno and mustard. The wait wasn't incredibly long. Maybe 6 minutes or so? Eventually, I got my burger (or so I thought) and I headed over to Chatime to get my free drink.


    Side note: Can you believe a Google search of bubble tea+burger only turned up this one sad photo? It's not even a legit burger!

    Fast-forward to me back at my desk, unwrapping what I was expected to be a slightly more balanced protein-carb companion (because there's a bit of veg in there...supposedly). What did I discover? Between the unevenly sliced sides of a sesame bun were two MONSTROUS beef patties, a slice of cheddar (of expected thickness), a quarter-inch thick slice of aged white cheddar, a slice of tomato, and no sauce. First things first:

    WHO THE HELL ORDERS A BURGER WITH NO SAUCE?!!?

    Second, this is clearly not my burger. While it's a burger that definitely cost more than what I ordered, I would've preferred the veg I ordered over the second patty of meat. Unfortunately, Hangry Burger is not a simple elevator ride away. While it's not far, the distance is just beyond my supply of activation energy to go back (Just a bit of chemistry word-play...if you don't get it, don't worry. It's just a metaphor for saying the burger joint is too far to be worth the effort of walking back.). So yes, I put in a solid effort to try and eat the burger. As an act of charity, I will not post any photos of this poorly formed burger of high quality ingredients because it is Hangry's first day open. So let's cut them a little slack. But truth be told, now that I've eaten this burger that I did not order, I feel pretty disappointed. Seriously...what weirdo gets a burger with no sauce!??!

    On the bright side, Chatime did not mess up my order. So at least there's that.

Comments (1)

  • I have read some good stuff here. Certainly value bookmarking for revisiting.
    I wonder how much attempt you set to create this type of wonderful informative
    site.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *