June 15, 2014

  • I just spent $30 on a stray cat

    No. I didn't buy a cat. I spent $30 on cab fare, taking a stray cat that I found on my street to the Toronto Humane Society. If I hadn't decided to walk home from Tabulé on Queen, I wouldn't even have found the cat.

    As I walked up my street, I saw a cat in the middle of the sidewalk. Normally, I don't think anything of it. Most cats usually run off when someone approaches. The friendly ones will come up to people hoping for a little ear scratch. But this cat curled up like a ball on the sidewalk. It's not normal behaviour. When I got closer, I said, "Hi kitty." and put my hand out for it to sniff. She didn't even look up, but meowed the loudest wail of a meow ever. I knew there was something wrong with her.

    I thought about calling the Humane Society but honestly, I don't know how long it would take for them to send someone to pick up this cat. She wasn't wearing a collar, so it's not like I could find her home. So I decided to walk home and grab the cardboard box in which my collection of A Game Of Thrones books was delivered. I figured if the cat was still there when I got back, I would take her to the Humane Society.

    Sadly, when I got back, there she was, hiding under a parked car. It was really hard to coax her out without looking like I was trying plant a bomb under the car (I know, I watch too many crime dramas). Eventually, she did come out and I scooped her up with my left hand and put her in the box. She jumped out the first time, but she was in no condition to run away, so I put her back in the box and headed to the bus stop. After waiting a few minutes, I flagged down a cab.

    Stray cat

    Why did I spend $30 on a cab to take this cat to the Humane Society? Because she was injured. She could barely walk. She was horribly skinny. When I picked her up, I could feel her ribs. There was no flesh at all. Just fur, skin and bones. She couldn't have been more than 5 lbs. A cat this size should weigh at least 5 lbs.

    20140614_230704

    At dinner, I was telling my friend that I hate taking cabs. I only actively choose to take cabs when I'm in a rage and don't have the patience that is necessary for taking public transit. And not 5 hours later, I was in a cab, with a stray cat that I put in box.

    Why was I in a rage, you ask? I wasn't pissed at the cat, if that's what you're thinking. Everyone knows, I'm not a cat person. While I don't hate cats, I'm most certainly not a fan. But, it doesn't matter that I'm very allergic to cats. And it doesn't matter than even now, 2 hours after dropping off the cat, my entire left arm is itchy. I was not going to leave this cat to die in the street

    Stray Cat

    I'm pissed at people. This cat is a stray. Where do stray cats come from? Either someone just threw their cat away, or people didn't spay/neuter their cats, resulting in kittens that no one wants. Regardless, it's irresponsible, negligent people that create this stray cat problem.

    Stray cat

    I'm not a hero. I'm not looking for anyone to pat me on the back. And I can't save every stray cat or rescue every unwanted dog. But this problem wouldn't be nearly so bad if people were more responsible.

    Anyway, I'll be calling the Humane Society in a couple days to see how the kitty is doing. In the meantime, please spay/neuter your pets.

    Bob Barker
    Source: http://www.bite.ca/
    wp-content/uploads/2012/07/BobBarker.jpg