Month: October 2013

  • Just shoot me

    I can't believe that this was even a freaking question.

    My boss asked me to print out a single page from a 200-page pdf. A pdf to which he has access. I am not an admin assistant. And I've repeatedly said I am adamantly opposed to doing these menial tasks. But whatever. I printed it and threw it on his desk without even responding to him.

    THEN...

    He asks me if I could take the sheet of paper to the multifunction to scan and email it to him.

    The original document is an unlocked pdf. We both have Adobe Standard which means we can manipulate the pdfs. WHY THE FUCK ARE YOU ASKING ME TO SCAN AND EMAIL YOU A HARDCOPY WHEN WE ALREADY HAVE IT ELECTRONICALLY!!!

    YOU IDIOT!!!

    And if he had just said, "I need only this page to email to someone," I would've sent him the one page electronically instead of killing a tree.

    AND WHY THE FUCK ARE YOU ASKING ME DO THIS ANYWAYS!??! If you say you don't need an admin assistant, then do it yourself! Cuz I'm not your admin!

    I hate working here. I really do.


    Source: http://is.gd/5kL4Jc

  • T-16

    These days, I feel like I'm running around like a chicken with my head cut off. So many things to do...so little time.

    Booked 2 contractors so that Home Reno phase 2 can hopefully be done before the end of 2013. Sorted out the great contact lense debacle and got 5 free pairs in the meantime. Confirmed hiking boots were delivered. Travel Clinic appointment this Saturday. Gotta buy non-medical travel insurance and sew Canada flags on my backpack.

    I think all the prep is going well...but still lots to do.

    Picture the Alice in Wonderland white rabbit panicking...I sorta feel like that...but in a good way.


    Source: http://images2.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20110816111508/
    disney/images/8/80/White_Rabbit_KHREC.png

    T-16 days until Operation World Domination!

  • Roast Pork Chops

    I don't usually buy whole pork loin roasts, least of all ones that are already frenched. But it was on sale, so I thought, sure...why not.

    Usually if I have a whole roast, I brine it, but I opted for a dry rub this time. In my dry rub, I used kosher salt, brown sugar, fresh cracked pepper, granulated garlic, smoked paprika, cayenne pepper, dried mint and oregano. I covered the whole loin with it, drizzled some olive oil on it, covered it with plastic wrap and let it sit in the fridge for 2 days.

    Before throwing it in the oven, I set it on the kitchen counter for 2 hours so that it comes up to room temperature.


    Source: http://instagram.com/p/fv4wpNuq68/

    I preheat the oven to 500 F turned it down to 275 F as soon as I closed the door after I put the loin in the oven. I let it go for an hour because 275 is pretty low. Opening the door unnecessarily would make the cooking process painfully long.

    After an hour, I checked the internal temp. It was at 45 C (yeah...I used the C thermometre instead of the F...that's roughly 113 F). For perfect, it needs to finish at 63 C/145 F. So I rolled the loin onto it's side so give the bottom some heat and threw it back in the oven at 300 F for another 30 minutes. After 30 minutes, the internal temperature was 55 C. I turned it back so that the rack was on the bottom and finished it at 325 F after 15 minutes.


    Source: http://instagram.com/p/fwMXuSuq5P/

    It came out at 60 C, which means after 20 minutes of resting, it'll be a perfect 64 C in the centre.

    And yup...it was pretty close to perfect.


    Source: http://instagram.com/p/fwRpL3uqwW/

    I roasted the whole loin so that I could put it in sandwiches or take it for lunch over the course of the week. But if you were serving this for your friends/family at dinner, you can pair it with a nice mushroom and thyme gravy (well...that's what I would pair it with) and serve it with roasted root vegetables.

    Bon appetit!!