July 19, 2014

  • The last bridesmaid dress ever


    Source: http://rlv.zcache.com/always_the_bridesmaid_pin-rd7593f899cf24f1b8bd5d27c71df79aa_x7j3i_8byvr_324.jpg

    The day has arrived. Today, Cookie girl, my oldest friend, is getting married. We've known each other since we were 5 years old. And this is the absolute LAST bridesmaid dress I will ever wear. I know there are so many people who think being a bridesmaid is *such* a great honour, but when you have as many bridesmaid dresses as I do, you will realize that it is more burden than honour.

    "MS2
    Source: http://s3.amazonaws.com/
    designs.weddingpaperie.com/original/1264/MS2.jpg

    At some point in history, I think it was an honour. You were important/special enough to the bride that she wanted you to be involved...and you wanted to be involved. But I've become very jaded over the years. And nothing has jaded me more than the last wedding I was in. It made me realize that not all my friends are considerate. Not all my friends want me to be a part of their day because I'm important to them. Some "friends" are self-absorbed, inconsiderate, selfish brats who think that because they're the bride, everyone has to accommodate their insanity. And by some, I mean one. And yes, she was most definitely, a Bridezilla.


    Source: http://www.hadaraboutique.com/Blog%20images/bridezilla.png

    To be honest, I have no regrets being a bridesmaid for the first four friends that asked me. The first wedding was probably the best wedding I've ever been a part of. The second was an out of town wedding. The third was a big traditional Chinese wedding with all the bells and whistles. The fourth was my bff's. So yeah...no regrets AT ALL.

    But that fifth wedding...FUCK...I TOTALLY should have stuck with my initial response (which was "HELL no!"). After that nightmare (starting with the bridal shower and ending with the reception), I was so traumatized, it took me almost a month and 100 L of ice cream to recover. She didn't even ask her best friend to be her Maid of Honour. She asked me...of all people. WE AREN'T EVEN CLOSE!!! Caving when she said that there was no one else she could ask is probably the BIGGEST regret of my life. And I'm not the type that has regrets.

    Thankfully, Cookie girl is NOTHING like Bridezilla. She's one of the most considerate people I know. So even though for years, I had been trying to plant the idea of not asking me to be a bridesmaid in her mind, I knew that when the day came, I would have to say yes. And despite all my moaning about it, I'm not opposed to being a part of her wedding party.

    But the purpose of this blog post, is to set forth in stone (figuratively) that I will NEVER agree to be a bridesmaid/maid of honour again.


    Source: http://www.weddingpartyapp.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/Will-you-be-my-bridesmaid-box-chanel-powder-pearls-wedding-party-blog.jpg

    Not for anyone. This post makes it official. If I am the only friend you have and you need a bridesmaid, I WILL STILL SAY NO!!


    Source: http://sr.photos3.fotosearch.com/bthumb/CSP/CSP207/k2078647.jpg

    I will gladly, chip in $100 so that you can hire a bridesmaid. But I will not be slowly walking down any more aisles in satin or chiffon bridesmaid dresses. I've paid more than my dues. I'm done.