June 5, 2013

  • For the love of dog

    I side with the dog. I don’t care what defence they put up. There is no excuse, ever, for that level of brutality. And the main reason I’m determined to judge him as per the letter of the law is because I don’t for even ONE second believe that his claim of mental illness is legitimate.

    Crown Wants Vancouver Dog Killer To Spend Up To Six Months Behind Bars

    By the time Whitlock decided to euthanize Captain, he was having trouble sleeping, acting erratically, and feeling paranoid.

    “Bludgeon to death” – now the new definition of “euthanize”. Let’s look at the “old” definition.

    Euthanasia http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/euthanasia
    The act or practice of killing or permitting the death of hopelessly sick or injured individuals (as persons or domestic animals) in a relatively painless way for reasons of mercy

    Do these injuries sound relatively painless?

    • Lacerations to head and body
    • Massive bruising to head and body
    • Puncture wounds to the body

    And apparently inflicted with a baseball bat. Because this kind of physical contact is “relatively painless”…you know…compared to being flayed.

    His role in Captain’s death has also garnered so much media attention and public scrutiny that the stigma is enough to deter him from similar actions in the future.

    Yeah…and following that logic, Paul Bernardo wouldn’t need to be locked up either. Because we all know for damned sure that Bernardo got WAY more media attention and was under greater public scrutiny. I’m sure the stigma of what he did would have deterred him too…NOT!

    There’s no remorse.  There’s no understanding the gravity of his actions.  I don’t think it has anything to do with mental illness.  Because there are a million things he could’ve done differently…including telling the truth.

    Whitlock told the police and psychiatrists that he believed Captain had been poisoned or cursed, and that he didn’t feel safe around the animal. As a result, he decided to “put him out of his misery.”

    Really? So if *you* don’t feel safe, you should put the dog out of “its misery”?! WHEN WAS THE DOG MISERABLE!?

    “I should have taken him to the vet, but felt it was my responsibility because he was my dog”

    And how exactly is senselessly and inhumanely, bludgeoning a dog to death considered, “taking responsibility?” The vet would’ve given the dog 2 needles. But sure, I can see how that would be considered irresponsible…TO YOUR WALLET!

    Captain wasn’t just some dog.  He was a former police dog.  Why was he retired from service?  BECAUSE HE WAS TOO FRIENDLY!!! TOO FRIENDLY!!! And for that, he was bludgeoned to death by someone who should never have been allowed to buy a dog…someone who didn’t have the personal strength to get over the breakdown of his parents’ marriage, separation from his wife and son, and substance abuse. You know what? Sad as these stressors are, they’re not exactly uncommon. And no, I won’t feel sorry for a dog murderer just because he’s an emotional weakling. Lots of people come from homes with failed marriages. My parents’ marriage is so dysfunctional, I think that divorce might help with my sanity. Being separated from his wife and son…I’m sorry, I don’t view that as a big deal cuz quite frankly, IT HAPPENS TO FREAKING EVERYONE! And substance abuse…if you self-medicate with alcohol/drugs/painkillers, don’t ask me to feel sorry for you.  There are tons of services available to help those struggling with depression/mental illness.  If you choose the route that is consistently advertised as inappropriate, then you can accept all the consequences of your choice.

    I know I sound completely heartless. But I’m not. Dogs are the most loyal, loving animals ever. They love you EVEN WHEN YOU DON’T DESERVE IT! Humans are experts at killing animals and each other in complete acts of senselessness.  So if you think for one second that any of these weak attempts at defense are going to move me, you’re crazy.  I would never side with a violent “crazy” person (who isn’t even legitimately crazy) over a dog.  EVER.

    Lock Brian Whitlock up and throw away the key.  Or…feed him to a pack of feral dogs.  I don’t care.  For those of you non-dog people, on the plus side, it’s a good thing it was Captain who ate “something off the ground during a walk”. If it was Whitlock’s son who suffered this fate, more of you would be outraged.

Comments (2)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment