Month: December 2012

  • Messed up conversations with the boss

    My boss has this problem...I often refer to it as separation anxiety, because it seems like he can't last 10 whole minutes in his office without saying, "cokeaddict, can you come over here?" or "do you have a second?".   So obviously, I go over there, on the off chance that it's important.  95% of the time it ends up with me, sitting in his office, doing abso-fucking-lutely NOTHING, while he's checking is email, making phone calls, or muttering to himself as he edits some document on his computer.  After sitting there for about 20 minutes, he'll talk about some non-work related nonsense (but don't worry, nothing harrassment worthy) for another 20 minutes, before FINALLY getting to the subject of why he called me over.  He's really good at wasting my time.  And I get very aggravated about it.  I always tell him, "Only call me over if there's something you want to talk about immediately."  Yeah...he and I clearly have a different definition of "immediately."

    After one of these gloriously productive interludes this morning, just as I'm walking out of his office, we had this conversation.

    PHB:  Are you working on anything important?

    Me:   No, of course not.  Why the hell would I be working on anything important?

    PHB:  Ok, so maybe try and find something important to work on.

    Me:  Oh no, I can't do that.

    PHB:  Why not?

    Me:  I've already filled my quota of "important things" for the week.

    He knew I was being sarcastic, but honestly, considering how much of my time he wastes, it's a miracle I get anything important done at all.