Month: September 2012

  • Locked out

    I knew this would happen.  Even as I detailed my personal opinion on the matter, as I tried to be fair and objective, I knew that there would be a lock out.

    And I have every intention of staying true to my word.  But I'd like to add a few qualifiers.

    Many things have happened in the negotiations since I first posted my demand that the NHL and NHLPA hammer out a deal without a lockout.  I'm not going to blame *all* the owners, but I am blaming the ones fueling Bettman's steamroller.

    While I personally believe the players demand for more than half of hockey-related revenue is completely ridiculous, I'm more mad about the owners sticking it to the fans.  It's a bit of math.  It's ±3%.  Even if it was ±10%, I'd say they should be able to solve this without a freaking lockout.  Sign the Collective Bargaining Agreement for all the other terms and leave this one to be discussed WITHOUT HAVING A LOCKOUT!  This is money.  It's ONLY money.  It's not a change in the rules of the game.  So that means the games can be played.  The terms of this revenue sharing crap can get signed in November or even March and it shouldn't affect the season.


    Source: http://www.caglecartoons.com/viewimage.asp?ID={D0046C9B-A402-4C77-9E4A-0A2EC6C57AC0}

    But no.  Bettman insisted on a lockout.  He didn't even TRY to negotiate up until the 11th hour so that the season could start on-time.  In fact, he flatly refused to talk the full 24 hours before the deadline.  This is bullshit.  THEY ARE ALL MULTI-MILLIONAIRES!! IN SOME CASES, BILLIONAIRES!!  They're not blue collar automotive workers.  If the CAW can negotiate up to the very last second...SO CAN THE NHL!  They can even afford premium coffee.  So WTF!?

    At present, I side with the players, even though mathematically and economically, I think they're demanding more than is fair.  I'm siding with them because the NHL could've continued their negotiations with the NHLPA without fucking over the start of the season. 

    So Gary, you will never see another cent of my money because you messed with my game one too many times...with CANADA'S GAME!!!  I don't take shit from ANYONE.  I sure as hell am not going to start taking shit from you.  I told you to go fuck yourself last time.  After 6 years, I let Canada's Olympic gold and Halak coax me into coming back.  However, this time it's different.  There are no principles to this lockout.  So...long as you're at the helm, it's doubtful that another Olympic gold+star goalie combo will bring me back.  I don't think even a Habs Stanley Cup will bring me back.  You shot yourself in both feet.  I hope you and the league suffer greatly as a result of this.  It's all that you deserve.